Tradition creates innovation

Since 1927 when Kurt Jooss founded Folkwang Dance, it has continuously been giving guiding impulses to national and international dance. In the 1930s the germs of new dance were formed in the Folkwang dance department and it held on to its credo of contemporary dance education also after the Second World War. In Germany, classical dance was being restored while modern dance had been lost to the Third Reich. Jooss, returning from his emigration to England, carried on where he had left off before the war. In an atmosphere of openness, curiosity, innovation and artistic experiment the dance department has produced more and more new choreographers and continues to do so to this day.

Eminent choreographers such as Pina Bausch, Susanne Linke and Reinhild Hoffmann were to a large extent in the 1970s part of the revival of modern dance in Germany. As in the 1930s the Folkwang Hochschule was again an essential catalyser for this development. Since then the dance department has continually produced choreographer personalities, who with the Jooss principles as a starting point, have developed their own individual movement-vocabularies and personal styles which they have expressed in modern choreographies.

For example: Kurt Jooss, Sigurd Leeder, Hans Züllig, Jean Cebrón, Pina Bausch, Susanne Linke, Reinhild Hoffmann, Mitsuru Sasaki, Claudia Lichtblau, Christine Brunel, Wanda Golonka, Urs Dietrich, Joachim Schlömer, Gregor Zöllig, Mark Sciezkarek, Daniel Goldin, Stephan Brinkmann, Rainer Behr, Felix Ruckert, Rodolpho Leoni, Toula Limnaios, Henrietta Horn, Torsten Konrad, Samir Akika, Lorca Renoux, Chuo Ku Wu, Benjamin Riepe, Carlos Maria Romero