The Folkwang’s world of design in overview

Even before the founding of the Folkwang School in 1927, designers were there (as the School of Trades and Applied Arts). They were closely associated and worked in parallel with the other Folkwang arts from the very beginning, and also under the name “Folkwang School of Design” (Folkwangschule für Gestaltung) after 1928. From 1948 to 1972 photographers, carvers and sculptors, graphic designers, commercial artists and the like were learning and creating under the same roof as musicians, dancers and actors in the Benedictine Abbey in Werden. It was not until 2007, however, that they became an official part of the Folkwang Hochschule, along with the Photography, Communication Design and Industrial Design programs.

Since 2010, the premises of the Zollverein World Heritage Site have been a home to the Folkwang University of the Arts with its use of the architecturally outstanding SANAA Building. On the Zollverein site in view of the SANAA Building, a new building is undergoing construction to house the Design Faculty with all its study programmes. The 2017 winter semester will witness the start of teaching activities, enabling the Zollverein to become home to the entire Design Faculty of the Folkwang University of the Arts together with its workshops and all its students and staff.

No future without an origin
Folkwang is one of the oldest training locations in photography in Germany, and in the 1950s it became the epitome of photographic training under Otto Steinert. The disciplines of Communication Design and Industrial Design are also indebted to the special Folkwang tradition, represented by numerous distinguished teachers and a wide range of interdisciplinary artistic, theoretical and practical training. On this basis, the whole Folkwang Design area fosters cross-disciplinary work with international partners as well as close contact with commerce and industry, thus enabling the Folkwang idea to be carried into the future in a vibrant and reality-based way.

What is Folkwang design?

Well-trained designers make an important contribution to designing our environment by virtue of their holistic practical and critical thinking, their sensibility and capacity to think ahead, and their knowledge of culture, art, technology, ergonomics, science and the marketplace. The Folkwang’s training in Design aims to educate this kind of designer, to give them the basis for new perspectives and approaches and to encourage them in establishing their own individual attitudes and approaches to design – all within the context of a unique cross-disciplinary course structure and the fusion of theory with practice.

Contact
Campus: Universität Duisburg-Essen
Universitätsstr. 12 | Gebäude R 12
45141 Essen
Tel. +49 (0) 201_183-3355 | -3356
Fax. +49 (0) 201_183-3498
dekan-fb4(at)folkwang-uni.deDirections and Maps

Folkwang Gestaltung im Überblick

Schon vor Gründung der Folkwangschule 1927 gab es die Gestalter*innen (als Handwerker- und Kunstgewerbeschule) und von Anfang an waren sie in großer Nähe und Parallelität zu den anderen Folkwang Künsten; seit 1928 auch unter dem Namen „Folkwangschule für Gestaltung“. Von 1948 bis 1972 lernten und schufen Fotograf*innen, Bildhauer*innen, Grafiker*innen, Werkkünstler*innen etc. sogar unter einem gemeinsamen Dach mit Musiker*innen, Tänzer*innen und Schauspieler*innen in der Benediktiner Abtei Werden. Aber erst 2007 wurden sie offizieller Teil der Folkwang Universität der Künste und kamen mit den drei Studiengängen Fotografie, Kommunikationsdesign und Industrial Design.

Seit Januar 2010 wird das SANAA-Gebäude von der Folkwang Universität der Künste genutzt. Damit hat sich Folkwang verbindlich auf dem Gelände des Welterbes Zollverein angesiedelt. In Sichtweite des SANAA-Gebäudes entstand der Neubau für den Fachbereich Gestaltung. Im Wintersemester 2017 startete dort der Lehrbetrieb für alle Folkwang Gestalter*innen.

Keine Zukunft ohne Herkunft

Folkwang gilt als eine der ältesten Ausbildungsstätten für Fotografie in Deutschland und wurde in den 1950er Jahren unter Otto Steinert zum Inbegriff für Fotografieausbildung. Auch die Disziplinen Kommunikationsdesign und Industrial Design sind der besonderen Folkwang Tradition verpflichtet. Dafür stehen zahlreiche bedeutende Lehrende und das große Spektrum der interdisziplinären künstlerischen, wissenschaftlichen und praktischen Ausbildung. Auf dieser Grundlage pflegt der gesamte Folkwang Fachbereich Gestaltung das transdisziplinäre Arbeiten mit internationalen Partner*innen und den engen Kontakt zu Wirtschaft und Industrie, wodurch die Folkwang Idee lebendig und realitätsnah in die Zukunft getragen wird.

Was ist Folkwang Gestaltung?

Gut ausgebildete Gestalter*innen leisten durch ganzheitliches praktisches und auch kritisches Denken, durch die Sensibilität und Fähigkeit vorauszudenken, durch Kenntnisse von Kultur, Kunst, Technologie, Ergonomie, Wissenschaft und Markt einen wesentlichen Beitrag für die Gestaltung unserer Umwelt. Solche Gestalter*innen auszubilden, ihnen innerhalb einer einzigartigen transdisziplinären Studienstruktur, durch die Verbindung von Theorie und Praxis, die Grundlagen für neue Sicht- und Vorgehensweisen zu geben und sie bei der Bildung ihrer eigenen gestalterischen Haltung und Herangehensweise zu fördern, ist Ziel der Folkwang Ausbildung.

Kontakt

Quartier Nord | Campus Welterbe Zollverein

Martin-Kremmer-Straße 21
45327 Essen
Tel +49 (0) 201_6505-1419
Fax +49 (0) 201_6505-1492

 

dekan-fb4(at)folkwang-uni.de