Foto: Georg Schreiber

Folkwang Dance today

Folkwang is today as in the past mostly characterized by one fact: It is a place of creativity. Folkwang is perceived as a synthesis of tradition and innovation. This understanding is implemented by the three pillars of the Institute of Contemporary Dance - dance education, dance company (FTS) and dance archive.

Modern dance techniques are being taught based on the traditions represented by Kurt Jooss until Pina Bausch. Aspects of further modern and contemporary techniques are also included in the studies. The classical dance taught at Folkwang respects the needs of contemporay dancers and takes their individual and physical prerequisites into consideration. Movement awareness and analytical capabilities are being taught and facilitated through movement notation and theoretical subjects.

Instruction is given in group classes and accompanied live on the piano by musicians with extensive experience. Regular participation in all courses is a prerequisite for successful completion of the study plan. There are regular performance reviews to ensure this.

Represented throughout the world

Folkwang Dance’s international reputation is reflected in the interest from all parts of the world to study there: currently there are 90 young people from 27 countries studying at the University. Graduates from 39 nations are taking the knowledge that they acquired at the Folkwang University of the Arts out into the world as dancers, choreographers or teachers. Graduates from the Folkwang University of the Arts are globally represented not only in the whole spectrum of theatres and companies but also the independent scene.

A selection of countries of origin of our students:

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, Georgia, Greece, Great Britain, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Lativia, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Rumania, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine, USA, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam.