Folkwang

The Folkwang idea is a commitment that provides us with new challenges on a daily basis

The Folkwang University of Arts is a place of interdisciplinary artistic, pedagogical and scientific research, teaching and practice. We are the main training centre for music, theatre, dance, design and academic studies in North Rhine Westphalia and firmly anchored in the Ruhr metropolis with our five locations - Essen-Werden, Essen-Zollverein, Duisburg, Theatre Centre Bochum and Orchestra Centre|NRW in Dortmund. The Folkwang University is thus in the heart of one of the largest industrial-cultural centres in Europe. We have a large impact in the region as a whole, and from there our network spreads out on a global basis.

Folkwang is the unity of all the arts

The name ‘Folkwang’ has become synonymous with a unique concept for artistic learning and communication. The basis for the foundation of the first Folkwang school in 1927 is due to a vision Karl Ernst Osthaus had over a hundred years ago: he wanted to create an interdisciplinary cooperation of the arts, and anchor all the arts in the centre of a democratic society. Then as now, the Folkwang University of the Arts has been following social realities, and has thus helped the arts become a living and breathing factor of society by setting innovative as well as creative accents, thereby setting pioneering impulses for the future.

We provide art and education

Folkwang University of the Arts prides itself in training and fostering personalities that are characterised by their outstanding artistic, scientific and pedagogical competence, a broad horizon of knowledge and a large degree of individuality, creativity and social responsibility. We understand artistic education as an unalienable element of general education, and perceive the Folkwang University of the Arts as a home of young personalities, which will be further developed both with them and through them. We shape these development processes fully conscious of our cultural heritage, remain focussed on the continually evolving needs of the artistic professions and realities, and in this manner contribute to the further development of the career and everyday world of artists, scientists and pedagogues.

Our institution is open to the world

The Folkwang idea for interdisciplinary cooperation is entirely unique in terms of an artistic-pedagogical concept. Not least for this reason, the Folkwang University of the Arts has assumed a leading role as an international contact partner for artistic learning and practical application as well as for development projects in the areas of art and academic studies. In this manner, global partnerships, university exchanges and international projects have on an increasing scale become an inherent part of teaching and research – as key pillars of our strategy oriented to the future.

Our potential lies in diversity

At the Folkwang University of the Arts, students and teachers with European as well as international backgrounds enrich the overall profile in a sustainable manner from the very beginning. They provide an environment of creativity far beyond national borders. We perceive the diversity of all university students as a long-term potential. This diversity is for us a contribution to both educational equality and to excellence. We therefore actively promote the productive diversity of our students, teachers, colleagues and alumni not only by gender mainstreaming measures, but also by diversity management. We attach great value to open communication, a social sense of responsibility and a participatory style of leadership designed to ensure the involvement in the further development of our university at all levels.

Our study programme is interdisciplinary based

The Folkwang study programme comprises some 40 study courses in its wide range of university subjects with internationally recognised Bachelor, Master and Artist diplomas as well as possibilities for doctorate and post doctorate qualifications. In addition, further education courses serve to optimally develop the individual potentials with regard to lifelong learning. The interdisciplinary Folkwang idea and the active, transdisciplinary exchange are fostered with particular emphasis in the Folkwang LABs. These discipline transcending project laboratories are an integrative component of the study programme. Thanks to more than 300 public events, including many cooperation projects with theatres, concert halls, museums, galleries and schools, students of all disciplines at Folkwang experience a practice-oriented and vibrant exchange at an early stage.

Die Folkwang Idee ist uns Verpflichtung und täglich neue Herausforderung zugleich

Die Folkwang Universität der Künste ist ein Ort interdisziplinärer künstlerischer, pädagogischer und wissenschaftlicher Forschung, Lehre und Praxis. Wir sind die zentrale Ausbildungsstätte für Musik, Theater, Tanz, Gestaltung und Wissenschaft in NRW und mit unseren fünf Campus – Essen-Werden, Essen-Zollverein, Duisburg, Theaterzentrum Bochum, Orchesterzentrum|NRW in Dortmund – fest in der Metropole Ruhr verankert. Die Folkwang Universität der Künste befindet sich somit im Herzen eines der größten wirtschaftlich-kulturellen Zentren Europas. In diese Region wirken wir hinein und von dort aus vernetzen wir uns international.

Folkwang ist die Einheit der Künste

Mit dem Namen „Folkwang“ verbindet sich eine unverwechselbare Idee von künstlerischer Praxis und Kunstvermittlung. Die Basis für die Gründung der ersten Folkwangschule 1927 legte vor über 100 Jahren Karl Ernst Osthaus mit seiner Vision vom disziplinübergreifenden Zusammenwirken der Künste und der Verankerung aller Kunst in der Mitte einer demokratischen Gesellschaft. Damals wie heute orientiert sich die Folkwang Universität der Künste bewusst an den gesellschaftlichen Realitäten, damit die Künste durch innovative und kreative Akzente zu einem lebendigen Teil der Gesellschaft werden und richtungsweisende Impulse setzen.

Wir vermitteln Kunst und Bildung

Der Anspruch der Folkwang Universität der Künste ist es, mündige Persönlichkeiten auszubilden, die von herausragender Kompetenz in den Bereichen Kunst, Wissenschaft und Pädagogik, einem breiten Bildungsverständnis und einem hohen Maß an Individualität, Kreativität und gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung geprägt sind. Wir begreifen künstlerische Bildung als unverzichtbaren Teil allgemeiner Bildung und sehen die Folkwang Universität der Künste als Heimat junger Persönlichkeiten, die sich mit ihnen und durch sie weiterentwickelt. Diese Entwicklungsprozesse gestalten wir eingedenk unseres kulturellen Erbes, haben die sich stetig wandelnden Erfordernisse der künstlerischen Berufe und Realitäten im Blick und tragen so zur Weiterentwicklung der Berufs- und Alltagswelt von KünstlerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen und PädagogInnen bei.

Unsere Ausrichtung ist weltoffen

Die Folkwang Idee von der spartenübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit ist als künstlerisch-pädagogische Konzeption weltweit einzigartig. Nicht zuletzt darum hat die Folkwang Universität der Künste eine führende Position als internationaler Ansprechpartner für künstlerische Ausbildung und Praxis sowie für künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Entwicklungsvorhaben. So gehören zunehmend weltweite Partnerschaften, Austausch mit Hochschulen und internationale Projekte zum festen Bestandteil von Lehre und Forschung – als wichtige Säule unserer zukunftsorientierten Strategie.

Verschiedenheit ist unser Potential

Studierende und Lehrende aus dem internationalen und europäischen Bildungsraum bereichern an der Folkwang Universität der Künste von Beginn an nachhaltig unser Profil. Sie schaffen ein Umfeld, das Kreativität jenseits von Landesgrenzen fördert. Die Diversität aller Hochschulangehörigen betrachten wir als zukunftsweisendes Potential. Sie ist für uns sowohl ein Beitrag zur Bildungsgerechtigkeit als auch zur Exzellenz. So fördern wir aktiv die produktive Vielfalt unserer Studierenden, Lehrenden, MitarbeiterInnen und Alumni nicht nur durch Maßnahmen des Gender Mainstreamings, sondern auch des Diversity Managements. Wir legen Wert auf offene Kommunikation, soziales Verantwortungsgefühl und einen partizipativen Führungsstil, der die Mitwirkung an der Weiterentwicklung unserer Universität auf allen Ebenen gewährleistet.