Folkwang Tanzstudio

The Folkwang Tanzstudio (FTS) is able to look back on an eventful 80-year success story. It was founded in 1928 by Kurt Jooss; choreographers such as Pina Bausch, Susanne Linke, Reinhild Hoffmann, Urs Dietrich, Mark Sieczkarek and, most recently Henrietta Horn have played a crucial role in shaping the profile of the FTS over the years.
Artistically, the FTS was directed by Pina Bausch, until her death in June 2009. Since July 2009, the ensemble is under the joint artistic direction of Lutz Förster and Rodolpho Leoni.

The Folkwang Tanzstudio is an international touring company, which currently employs 10 dancers from many different cultural backgrounds. The FTS is part of the Department of Dance Studies at the Folkwang Academy in Essen.

The company enjoys an established position in the dance world and significant international recognition. To date FTS has toured in South Egypt, East and Central Europe, Hong Kong, China, Japan, Indonesia, Korea and in the Near East.

Its artistic work is distinguished by a double focus: on the one hand on the creations of young M.A. undergraduate choreographers, on the other hand on pieces created in co-operation with international guest choreographers.

Its objective is to develop, based on stylistic and artistic diversity, choreographic works distinguished by a joy of experimentation, an exploration of movement and by openness. The FTS defines itself as a place of innovation, a place where excellence in dance and choreography is fostered.

Artistic directors

Förster
Contemporary Dance
+49 (0) 201_4903-109
Leoni
Choreography, Modern dance
_Artistic director of of Folkwang Dance Studio
Executive board member of Institute of Contemporary Dance

Organisation

Lüttringhaus
Institute for Contemporary Dance | Folkwang Dance Studio | Organisation
+49 (0) 201_4903-189

Folkwang

Das Folkwang Tanzstudio (FTS)

Das Folkwang Tanzstudio (FTS) kann auf eine über 80jährige, wechselvolle  Erfolgsgeschichte zurückblicken. Gegründet wurde es 1928 von Kurt Jooss. Choreographen wie Pina Bausch, Susanne Linke, Reinhild Hoffmann, Urs Dietrich, Mark Sieczkarek und zuletzt Henrietta Horn haben mit ihren Choreographien über die Jahre entscheidend das Profil des FTS geprägt.
Künstlerisch geleitet wurde das FTS von Pina Bausch, bis zu ihrem Tod im Juni 2009. Seit Juli 2009 steht das Ensemble unter der gemeinsamen künstlerischen Leitung von Lutz Förster und Rodolpho Leoni.

Das FTS ist eine international arbeitende Company, die derzeit 10 professionelle Tänzerinnen und Tänzer aus aller Welt beschäftigt. Das FTS ist angegliedert an den Studiengang Tanz der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen.

Das Folkwang Tanzstudio hat mit seinen Produktionen einen festen Platz in der nationalen und internationalen Tanzwelt. Gastspiele führten die Company in den letzten Jahren u.a. nach Ägypten, Ost- und Mitteleuropa, Hong Kong, China, Japan, Indonesien und in den Nahen Osten.

Die künstlerische Arbeit wird durch zwei Schwerpunkte geprägt: Zum einen durch die Kreationen von jungen Choreographen im Rahmen ihres Masterstudiums, zum andern durch Stücke, die in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen Gastchoreographen entstehen.

Ziel ist es, durch eine stilistische und künstlerische Vielfalt choreographische Arbeiten zu entwickeln, die von Experimentierfreude, Bewegungserforschung und Offenheit zeugen. Das FTS versteht sich als ein Ort der Innovation, der Entwicklung von tänzerischer und choreographischer Qualität.

Mehr Informationen zum Folkwang Tanzstudio


Künstlerische Leitung

E-Mail

+49 (0) 201_4903-109


Organisation

E-Mail

+49 (0) 201_4903-189