Folkwang International

International partnerships and projects, as well as the internationalisation of courses, research and teaching, play a key role at Folkwang University of the Arts. The person responsible for international partnerships and projects is Vice President for International Affairs and Events, Prof. Hanns-Dietrich Schmidt.

350 members of the teaching staff are responsible for a total of approx. 1600 students. More than 30% of the students are foreign, and come from countries and backgrounds from around the world. Their presence greatly influences the international ambiance of our study environment.

The International Office forms one interface point for international activities at Folkwang University of the Arts. It maintains the university’s international relations, and is the first contact point for any queries regarding student and teacher exchange programs, or the exchange of other staff within the scope of ERASMUS and worldwide.

A list of partner universities can be found here:
Partner Universities

Information for international students as well as prospective students can be found in the area for “International Students”.
International students

Folkwang University of the Arts is a member of the AEC (Association Européenne des Conservatoires, Académies de Musique et Musikhochschulen), a European cultural and teaching network with 280 members in 55 countries.http://www.aec-music.eu/

As co-founder of the international association CUMULUS, whose members have swelled to over 190 universities for design, art, and media from more than 40 countries around the world, the Folkwang University of the Arts can rely on an exceptional platform for knowledge exchange, joint projects, and expositions. With the signing of the Kyoto Design Declaration in 2008, member universities of the CUMULUS association have committed to sharing global responsibility for building sustainable, human-centred and creative societies.
www.cumulusassociation.org

The European League of Institutes of the Arts (ELIA) is the primary independent network organisation for higher arts education. With over 300 members in more than 40 countries, it represents some 300,000 students in all art disciplines. ELIA advocates for the arts on the European level, creating new opportunities for its members and facilitating the exchange of best practices. Folkwang is ELIA-member as well.
www.elia-artschools.org

From 2009-2014 the Folkwang University of the Arts was also a member of UNeECC. UNeECC is the University Network of the European Capitals of Culture.
www.uneecc.org

Foreign language capabilities, German as a Foreign Language, and intercultural competences are just some of the many key competences offered in the Optional Study Spectrum of the Institute for Lifelong Learning.
Institute for Livelong Learning

International exchange students

We are happy to welcome 15 exchange students at Folkwang to study the winter semester 2016/2017 with us, whereas 17 Folkwang-students spend their exchange term at our partner universities and 5 Folkwang students / graduates are doing an ERASMUS+ internship within Europe.more

International Projects

Drama School in Palestine
more

International Shakespeare-Festival

more

Tsinghua partnership programme

more information

Folkwang International

Internationale Partnerschaften und Projekte sowie Internationalisierung von Studium, Forschung und Lehre spielen eine zentrale Rolle an der Folkwang Universität der Künste. Verantwortlich im Rektorat ist der Prorektor für Internationales und Veranstaltungen, Prof. Hanns-Dietrich Schmidt.

Rund 1.600 Studierende werden von 350 Lehrenden betreut. Mehr als 30 Prozent sind ausländische Studierende aus der ganzen Welt und prägen die internationale Atmosphäre des Studienalltags.

Das International Office ist eine Schnittstelle für internationale Aktivitäten an der Folkwang Universität der Künste, pflegt die Auslandsbeziehungen der Hochschule und ist Ansprechpartner für alle Aspekte des Austausches von Studierenden, Lehrenden und Hochschulangehörigen im Rahmen von ERASMUS und weltweit.

Internationale Partnerschulen finden Sie hier:Partnerhochschulen

Informationen und Angebote für ausländische Studierende und Studieninteressierte sind unter „Internationale Studierende“ zu finden.
Internationale Studierende

Die Folkwang Universität der Künste ist Mitglied der AEC (Association Européenne des Conservatoires, Académies de Musique et Musikhochschulen), ein europäisches kulturelles und pädagogisches Netzwerk mit 280 Mitgliedern in 55 Ländern.
http://www.aec-music.eu/

Als Mitbegründer des internationalen Verbandes CUMULUS, dem mittlerweile über 190 Design-, Kunst- und Medien-Hochschulen aus über 40 Ländern weltweit angehören, kann die Folkwang Universität der Künste auf  diese außergewöhnliche Plattform für Wissensaustausch, gemeinsame Projekte und Ausstellungen zurückgreifen. Mit der Unterzeichnung der Kyoto Design Erklärung haben sich 2008 die Mitglieds-Hochschulen des Cumulus-Verbandes verpflichtet, ihren Beitrag zu nachhaltigen, menschengerechten und kreativen Gesellschaften zu leisten.http://www.cumulusassociation.org

Die „European League of Institutes of the Arts” (ELIA) ist ein unabhängiges Netzwerk, in dem sich über 300 Kunsthochschulen aus über 40 Ländern zusammengeschlossen haben. Folkwang ist ebenfalls ELIA-Mitglied.
www.elia-artschools.org

Von 2009-2014 war die Folkwang Universität der Künste Mitglied bei UNeECC (University Network of the European Capitals of Culture). Universitäten aus Kulturhauptstädten Europas haben sich in UNeECC zu einem Netzwerk zusammengeschlossen.
www.uneecc.org

Fremdsprachenkenntnisse, Deutsch als Fremdsprache und interkulturelle Kompetenzen sind nur einige der Schlüsselkompetenzen, die im Optionalbereich des Instituts für lebenslanges Lernen angeboten werden.
Institut für lebenslanges Lernen

Internationale Austausch-Studierende
Im Wintersemester 2016/2017 begrüßen wir 15 Austauschstudierende bei Folkwang. 17 Folkwang-Studierende sind für ein Auslandssemester bei unseren Partnern in der Welt und 5 Folkwang-Studierende bzw. AbsolventInnen absolvieren ein ERASMUS+ Praktikum im europäischen Ausland.
mehr

Internationale Projekte

Deutsch-französischer Studiengangmehr

Schauspielschule in Palästina
mehr

Internationales Shakespeare-Festival
mehr

Tsinghua-Partnerschaftsprogrammmehr

Shanghai – Musikpädagogik
mehr

Kolleg für Musik und Kunst | Villa Ricci | Montepulciano
mehr

Für unsere Alumni:
Künstlerresidenz Villa Kamogawa, Kyoto | Japan
mehr

Forum d'Avignon Ruhr
mehr