Music

Ensembles at the Folkwang University of the Arts

A total of 11 ensembles provide for a vibrant musical presence at the Folkwang University of the Arts. All the ensembles work on a continuous basis and with changing musicians. You will find more information on the ensembles below.

Folkwang SYMPHONY
The Folkwang University of the Arts Symphony Orchestra

The Folkwang University of the Arts Symphony Orchestra comprises members of all instrumental courses. Here prospective professional musicians work on repertoires encompassing all stylistic periods. The orchestra has existed ever since the founding of the Folkwang School in 1927Orchesterbrett

> To the digital orchestra notice board

Folkwang SINFONIETTA
The Folkwang University of the Arts Chamber Orchestra

The Folkwang University of the Arts Chamber Orchestra is a new addition to the orchestras and ensembles at Folkwang, focusing on performing baroque and classical works as well as modern musical literature. The smaller number of musicians in this orchestra – usually only consisting of five first and four second violins as well as four violas, four cellos and one double bass (wind instruments are added as required) – does away with the need for a conductor, the orchestra being led by the soloist or the concertmaster.

The rather lean sound produced compared to the Symphony Orchestra is particularly suited for collaboration with soloists. Playing in a chamber orchestra is equivalent to playing chamber music in an orchestral framework. During the rehearsals and performances, our young up-and-coming musicians interact intensively on a personal level with soloists and conductors, from whose rich international experience they are able to learn. It is for this reason that the forthcoming projects of the Chamber Orchestra over the next few years will be realised preferredly with guests and visiting professors as well as selected soloists from within the university, who will present themselves within the framework of the concert programme.

Folkwang BRASS BAND
The Folkwang University of the Arts Brass Band

The Folkwang BRASS BAND was founded in the winter semester of 2005 to support and foster brass instrumental training. It is the first brass band to be formed at a German conservatory. Its earliest appearances included at four international football matches, where the band played the national anthem. The Director of the Folkwang BRASS BAND is Heinrich Schmidt.

Folkwang CONCERT CHOIR
The Folkwang University of the Arts Concert Choir

There are various choral ensembles at the Folkwang University of the Arts, each with different tasks, subjects of focus and aims. The Choral Singing syllabus comprises the following topics: choral vocal training, sight-singing, aural training, choral practice, repertoire studies and presentation of the resulting pieces as part of internal music lessons and public concert projects.
There are also students in the Folkwang CONCERT CHOIR, who, going beyond their study course commitments, develop their own interest in ensemble singing, vocal and artistic challenges as well as stylistic diversity. This vocal ensemble consists of between 16 and 40 singers depending on project and programme. The repertoire comprises works ranging from early vocal polyphonic compositions up to the present day. The key requirements for both participation in the ensembles and the success of working together are commitment as well as readiness for intensive rehearsals and individual initiative.   
The artistic director of the Folkwang KONCERT CHOIR is Prof. Jörg Breiding, Professor of Conducting | Choral Direction at the Folkwang University of Arts since 2005.

> More information on the composition of the choir at Folkwang

Folkwang WOMEN'S CHOIR
The Folkwang University of the Arts Women's Choir

The Folkwang University of the Arts Women's Choir was founded in 2009 by Prof. Werner Schepp. This female ensemble includes students from the “Music Teaching in Primary Schools” B.A and M.A. study courses and the "Singing with Children and Youngsters" Master study course. This ensemble is also open to other enthusiastic female singers from other study courses. The repertoire encompasses works from all epochs with a strong focus on the romantic choral music and works of the 20th century.

Interested female singers are requested to please contact Prof. Schepp at: schepp@folkwang-uni.de

Folkwang VOCAL ENSEMBLE
The Folkwang University of the Arts Vocal Ensemble

The Folkwang Vocal Ensemble was founded in October 2009 by Prof. Jörg Breiding, emerging from the Folkwang University of the Arts Concert Choir. The young singers are students or graduates of the Folkwang University of the Arts and have studied School Music, Church Music, Instrumental or Vocal Pedagogy with Vocal Studies as the main subject. In addition, all the members of the ensemble can call upon many years of choral experience. For example, they have sung in the Girls Choir at Essen Cathedral or in the NRW Youth Choir and – for the most part – have already taken on soloist assignments.

The repertoire consists of spiritual and secular works ranging from the Renaissance period up to the modern day, as well as traditionals, folk songs, close harmony and pop arrangements. The ensemble has taken part in master courses with Peter Philips / Tallis Scholars (April 2010) and the Hilliard Ensemble (May 2011). The performance of the Folkwang Vocal Ensemble as part of the »!Sing Day of Song 2010« was broadcast live on WDR3.
In 2012, the Folkwang Vocal Ensemble performed a concert as part of the International A-Cappella Week in Hanover. The »FOLKWANG VOCAL« CD with recordings made by the Folkwang Vocal Ensemble has appeared in the FOLKWANG CD EDITION series.

_Contact

breiding@folkwang-uni.de
as of: November 2013

The VOX WERDENSIS ensemble
The Folkwang University of the Arts Choral Schola.

VOX WERDENSIS is the mixed Choral Schola of the Folkwang University. Although the nucleus of the group is made up of Church Music and Gregorian Music students, the Ensemble is open to all interested students at the university.

More information on the VOX WERDENSIS ensemble

Folkwang MUSICAL POP COMBO
The Folkwang University of the Arts Musical Pop Combo

The Folkwang Musical Pop Combo is an ensemble made up of students in both the Musicals and Jazz study courses and has a long-standing tradition at Folkwang. Every year in the spring, several concerts take place both in and outside the university.

> More information on the MUSICAL POP COMBO

Folkwang BIGBAND
The Folkwang University of the Arts Big Band

All the students in the Jazz course take their turn playing in the Folkwang University of the Arts Big Band. The band gives numerous concerts, both within and outside the university, playing a repertoire that covers the entire literature of classic jazz.



folkwang modern
Folkwang University of the Arts Ensemble for Contemporary Music

Since its sounding in 2005, the folkwang modern Ensemble has been dedicated to the interpretation of contemporary music and the Folkwang University of the Arts ensemble for Contemporary Music. Under the artistic direction of the composer and university teacher Prof. Günter Steinke, the young ensemble has – within a short time – succeeded in developing into a professional orchestra and ensemble. Since 2005, Eva Fodor has been the resident conductor of the ensemble. In addition, it has also worked with a variety of alternating guest conductors.  The programme includes not only works by modern masters but also premieres of young composers. Since 2007, the folkwang modern Ensemble has regularly performed in the region – for example, in the Essen Philharmonia and at the Zeche Zollverein World Cultural Heritage Site – and guests at numerous cooperation projects.

Ensembles der Folkwang Universität der Künste

Insgesamt 11 Ensembles sorgen an der Folkwang Universität der Künste für eine lebendige musikalische Präsenz. Alle Ensembles arbeiten kontinuierlich und mit wechselnden Besetzungen. Im folgenden finden Sie nähere Informationen über die Ensembles.

Folkwang SYMPHONY
Sinfonieorchester der Folkwang Universität der Künste

Das Sinfonieorchester der Folkwang Universität der Künste besteht aus Mitgliedern aller Instrumentalklassen. Angehende Berufsmusiker erarbeiten hier Werke aller Stilepochen. Das Orchester besteht seit Gründung der Folkwangschule 1927.

> Zum digitalen Orchesterbrett

Folkwang SINFONIETTA
Kammerorchester der Folkwang Universität der Künste

Das neue Kammerorchester der Folkwang Universität der Künste erweitert die  Ensemblearbeit an Folkwang um einen Klangkörper, der schwerpunktmäßig Werke des Barock und der Klassik sowie moderne Literatur zu Gehör bringt. Durch die kleinere Besetzung - die Stammbesetzung besteht meist nur aus fünf ersten, vier zweiten Violinen sowie vier Bratschen, vier Celli und einem Kontrabass, bei Bedarf werden Bläser hinzugenommen - wird in vielen Fällen kein Dirigent benötigt, sondern der Solist oder der Konzertmeister leitet das Orchester.
Der im Vergleich zum Sinfonieorchester eher schlanke Klang eignet sich insbesondere für die Zusammenarbeit mit Solisten. Das Spielen in einem Kammerorchester gleicht kammermusikalischem Musizieren im orchestralen Rahmen. Unsere jungen Nachwuchsmusiker stehen während der Proben und den Aufführungen in einem intensiven persönlichen Austausch mit Solisten und Dirigent, von deren reichhaltiger internationaler Erfahrung sie lernen können. Daher werden die Projekte des Kammerorchesters in den nächsten Jahren bevorzugt mit Gästen und Gastprofessoren sowie ausgewählten Solisten aus den Universitätsreihen realisiert, die sich im Rahmen der Konzerte vorstellen werden.

Folkwang BRASS BAND
Brass Band der Folkwang Universität der Künste

Die Folkwang BRASS BAND wurde zum Wintersemester 2005 zur Unterstützung und Förderung der Blechbläserausbildung gegründet. Sie ist die erste Brass Band an einer deutschen Musikhochschule. Zu den ersten Auftritten zählten u.a. vier Fußball-Länderspiele, bei denen sie die Nationalhymnen intonierte. Leiter der Folkwang BRASS BAND ist Heinrich Schmidt.

Folkwang KONZERTCHOR
Konzertchor der Folkwang Universität der Künste

An der Folkwang Universität der Künste existieren verschiedene Chorensembles, die jeweils unterschiedliche Aufgaben, Schwerpunkte und Ziele haben. Das Unterrichtsangebot Chorsingen beinhaltet die folgenden Bereiche: chorische Stimmbildung, Blattsingen, singende Gehörbildung, Chorpraxis, Repertoirekunde, Präsentation der Arbeitsergebnisse im Rahmen von internen Musizierstunden und öffentlichen Konzertprojekten.
Im Folkwang KONZERTCHOR wirken Studierende mit, die über die durch den jeweiligen Studiengang vorgegebene Verpflichtung hinaus Interesse am Ensemblesingen, an stimmlicher und künstlerischer Herausforderung sowie stilistischer Bandbreite einbringen. Dieses Vokalensemble besteht je nach Projekt und Programm aus 16 bis 40 SängerInnen. Das Repertoire umfasst Werke der frühen Vokalpolyphonie bis zur Gegenwart. Engagement und Bereitschaft zu intensiver Probenarbeit sowie zu Eigeninitiative sind die entscheidenden Voraussetzungen für die Teilnahme und den Erfolg der gemeinsamen Arbeit.
Die künstlerische Leitung des Folkwang KONZERTCHORES liegt bei Prof. Jörg Breiding, der seit dem Jahr 2005 Professor für Dirigieren | Chorleitung an der Folkwang Universität der Künste ist.

> Mehr zur Chorstruktur an Folkwang

Folkwang FRAUENCHOR
Frauenchor der Folkwang Universität der Künste

Der Frauenchor der Folkwang Universität der Künste wurde 2009 von Prof. Werner Schepp gegründet. In diesem gleichstimmigen Ensemble wirken Studierende der Studiengänge Lehramt Musik an Grundschulen und des Master- Studienganges „Singen mit Kindern und Jugendlichen“ mit. Darüber hinaus steht das Ensemble für engagierte Sängerinnen anderer Studiengänge offen. Das Repertoire umfasst Werke aller Epochen mit einem deutlichen Schwerpunkt auf der romantischen Chormusik und Werken des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Interessierte Sängerinnen nehmen bitte Kontakt mit Prof. Schepp auf. schepp(at)folkwang-uni.de

Folkwang VOKALENSEMBLE
Vokalensemble der Folkwang Universität der Künste 

Das Folkwang Vokalensemble wurde im Oktober 2009 von Prof. Jörg Breiding gegründet und ging aus dem Konzertchor der Folkwang Universität der Künste hervor. Die jungen Sängerinnen und Sänger sind Studierende oder Absolventen der Folkwang Universität der Künste und haben Schul-, Kirchenmusik, Instrumental- oder Gesangspädagogik mit dem Hauptfach Gesang studiert. Alle Ensemblemitglieder können zudem auf eine umfangreiche Chorerfahrung zurückblicken. So sangen Sie z.B. im Mädchenchor am Essener Dom oder im Landesjugendchor NRW und konnten größtenteils auch schon solistische Aufgaben übernehmen.
Das Repertoire umfasst geistliche und weltliche Werke von der Renaissance bis zur Moderne, sowie Traditionals, Volkslieder, Close-Harmony- und Pop-Arrangements. Das Ensemble hat an Meisterkursen mit Peter Philips / Tallis-Scholars (April 2010) und dem Hilliard Ensemble (Mai 2011) teilgenommen. Im Rahmen des »!Sing Day of Song 2010« wurde der Auftritt des Folkwang Vokalensembles auf WDR3 live übertragen.
Im Jahr 2012 sang das Folkwang Vokalensemble ein Konzert im Rahmen der Internationalen A-Cappella-Woche Hannover. Die CD-Einspielung »FOLKWANG VOKAL« mit Aufnahmen des Folkwang Vokalensembles ist in der Reihe FOLKWANG CD EDITION erschienen.

_Kontakt

breiding(at)folkwang-uni.de
Stand: November 2013

ensemble VOX WERDENSIS
Choralschola der Folkwang Universität der Künste

VOX WERDENSIS ist die gemischte Choralschola der Folkwang Universität der Künste. Im Kern aus Studierenden der Kirchenmusik und Gregorianik bestehend, steht das Ensemble jedem interessierten Studierenden der Hochschule mit gehobenen sängerischen Fähigkeiten offen.

> Mehr zum ensemble VOX WERDENSIS

Folkwang MUSICAL POP COMBO
Musical-Pop-Combo der Folkwang Universität der Künste

Die Folkwang MUSICAL POP COMBO ist ein gemeinsames Ensemble von Studierenden der Studiengänge Musical und Jazz und hat eine langjährige Tradition an Folkwang. Jedes Jahr im Frühling finden mehrere Konzerte in und außerhalb der Hochschule statt. Die Leitung hat Prof. Wolf Burbat.

> Mehr zur MUSICAL POP COMBO

Folkwang BIGBAND
Big Band der Folkwang Universität der Künste

In der Big Band der Folkwang Universität der Künste spielen alternierend alle Studierenden des Studiengangs Jazz. Sie gibt zahlreiche Konzerte innerhalb und außerhalb der Hochschule, wobei das Repertoire Werke der gesamten klassischen Jazzliteratur umfasst.

folkwang modern
Ensemble für Neue Musik der Folkwang Universität der Künste

Das Ensemble folkwang modern widmet sich seit seiner Gründung 2005 der Interpretation aktueller Musik und ist d a s Ensemble für Neue Musik der Folkwang Universität der Künste. Unter der künstlerischen Leitung des Komponisten und Hochschullehrers Prof. Günter Steinke entwickelte sich das junge Ensemble in kurzer Zeit zu einem professionellen Klangkörper. Seit 2005 konnte Eva Fodor als feste Dirigentin des Ensembles gewonnen werden. Darüber hinaus arbeitet es mit wechselnden Gastdirigenten. Nicht nur Werke der klassischen Moderne stehen auf dem Programm, sondern auch Uraufführungen junger Komponisten. Seit 2007 spielt das Ensemble folkwang modern regelmäßig in der Region - z.B. in der Philharmonie Essen und auf dem Weltkulturerbe Zeche Zollverein - und ist Gast bei zahlreichen Kooperationsprojekten.